Diatonic Chords of G Minor Scale

How to form diatonic chords of G minor scale?

G Minor Scale

G – A – B♭ – C – D – E♭ – F – G  are the notes of the G minor scale.


g minor scale


Diatonic chords are formed by stacking two generic third notes above each scale note.

g minor diatonic chords

G Minor Diatonic Chords

These are the seven minor scale diatonic chords that come from the G minor scale.


g minor diatonic chords

Each diatonic chord is labelled with a roman numeral number.

All natural minor scales follow the same patten:

i,  iiº,  III,  iv,  v,  VI,  VII

g minor diatonic chords

We use uppercase roman numeral numbers to represent major chords, lowercase to represent minor chords, uppercase with a small plus sign to represent augmented chords, and lowercase with a small circle to represent diminished chords.

Firstfourth and fifth chords of a natural minor scale will always be minorThirdsixth and seventh chords of a natural minor scale will always be majorSecond chord of a natural minor scale will always be diminished.

The seven diatonic chords formed from the key of G minor are:

i.  G – B♭ – D (G minor chord)

iiº.  A – C – E♭ (A diminished chord)

III.  B♭ – D – F (B♭ major chord)

iv.  C – E♭ – G (C minor chord

v.  D – F – A (D minor chord)

VI.  E♭- G – B♭ (E♭ major chord

VII.  F – A – C (F major chord)

These are the chords that are diatonic to the G minor scale. They are directly related to the G minor key and make a harmonic sound for music in the same key.