Diatonic Chords of A Sharp Minor Scale

How to form diatonic chords of A sharp minor scale?

A Sharp Minor Scale

A♯ – B♯ – C♯ – D♯ – E♯ – F♯ – G♯ – A♯ are the notes of the A sharp minor scale.

a sharp minor scale


Diatonic chords are formed by stacking two generic third notes above each scale note.

a sharp minor diatonic chords


A Sharp Minor Diatonic Chords

These are the seven minor scale diatonic chords that come from the A sharp minor scale.

a sharp minor diatonic chords


Each diatonic chord is labelled with a roman numeral number.

a sharp minor diatonic chords

All natural minor scales follow the same pattern:

i,  iiº,  III,  iv,  v,  VI,  VII

We use uppercase roman numeral numbers to represent major chords, lowercase to represent minor chords, uppercase with a small plus sign to represent augmented chords, and lowercase with a small circle to represent diminished chords.

First, fourth and fifth chords in natural minor will always be minor. Third, sixth and seventh chords in natural minor scale will always be major. Second chord in natural minor scale will always be diminished.

The seven diatonic chords in the A sharp minor key are:

i.  A♯ – C♯ – E♯ (A Sharp minor chord)

iiº.  B♯ – D♯ – F♯ (B Sharp diminished chord) * Notice that B♯ and C are enharmonic equivalents. C diminished chord is the same as B Sharp diminished chord. 

III.  C♯ – E♯ – G♯ (C Sharp major chord)

iv.  D♯ – F♯ – A♯ (D Sharp minor chord)

v. E♯ – G♯ – B♯ (E Sharp minor chord) *Notice that E♯ and F are enharmonic equivalents. F minor chord is the same as E Sharp minor chord. 

VI.  F♯ – A♯ – C♯ (F Sharp major chord)

VII.  G♯ – B♯ – D♯ (G Sharp major chord) * G♯ and A♭ are enharmonic equivalents.  A Flat major chord is the same as G Sharp major chord.

These are the harmonic chords that are diatonic to the A sharp minor scale