Diatonic Chords of D Sharp Minor Scale

How to form diatonic chords of D sharp minor scale?

D Sharp Minor Scale

D♯ – E♯ – F♯ – G♯ – A♯ – B – C♯ – D♯ are the notes of the D sharp minor scale.

d sharp minor scale


Diatonic chords are formed by stacking two generic third notes above each scale note.

d sharp minor diatonic chords
D Sharp Minor Diatonic Chords

These are the seven minor scale diatonic chords that come from the D sharp minor scale.

d sharp minor diatonic chords

Each diatonic chord is labelled with a roman numeral number.

All natural minor scales follow the same patten:

i,  iiº,  III,  iv,  v,  VI,  VII

d sharp minor diatonic chords

We use uppercase roman numeral numbers to represent major chords, lowercase to represent minor chords, uppercase with a small plus sign to represent augmented chords, and lowercase with a small circle to represent diminished chords.

Firstfourth and fifth chords of a natural minor scale will always be minorThirdsixth and seventh chords of a natural minor scale will always be majorSecond chord of a natural minor scale will always be diminished.

The seven diatonic chords formed from the key of D sharp minor are:

i.  D♯ – F♯ – A♯ (D Sharp minor chord)

iiº.  E♯ – G♯ – B (E♯ diminished chord) *Notice that E♯ and F are enharmonic equivalents. F diminished chord is the same as E♯ diminished chord. F diminished chord is used more commonly than E♯ diminished chord.

III.  F♯ – A♯ – C♯ (F Sharp major chord)

iv.  G♯ – B – D♯ (G Sharp minor chord)

v. A♯ – C♯ – E♯ (A Sharp minor chord)

VI.  B – D♯ – F♯ (B major chord)

VII.  C♯ – E♯ – G♯ (C Sharp major chord)

These are the chords that are diatonic to the D sharp minor scale. They are directly related to the D sharp minor key and make a harmonic sound for music in the same key.