Diatonic Chords of F Minor Scale

How to form diatonic chords of F minor scale?

F Minor Scale

F – G – A♭ – B♭ – C – D♭ – E♭ – F  are the notes of the F minor scale.

f minor scale


Diatonic chords are formed by stacking two generic third notes above each scale note.


f minor diatonic chords



F Minor Diatonic Chords

These are the seven minor scale diatonic chords that come from the F minor scale.

f minor diatonic chords

Each diatonic chord is labelled with a roman numeral number.

All natural minor scales follow the same patten:

i,  iiº,  III,  iv,  v,  VI,  VII

f minor diatonic chords

We use uppercase roman numeral numbers to represent major chords, lowercase to represent minor chords, uppercase with a small plus sign to represent augmented chords, and lowercase with a small circle to represent diminished chords.

Firstfourth and fifth chords of a natural minor scale will always be minorThirdsixth and seventh chords of a natural minor scale will always be majorSecond chord of a natural minor scale will always be diminished.

The seven diatonic chords formed from the key of F minor are:

i.  F – A♭ – C (F minor chord)

iiº.  G – B♭ – D♭ (G diminished chord)

III.  A♭ – C – E♭ (A♭ major chord)

iv.  B♭ – D♭ – F (B♭ minor chord

v.  C – E♭ – G (C minor chord)

VI.  D♭- F – A♭ (D♭ major chord

VII.  E♭- G – B♭(E♭ major chord)

These are the chords that are diatonic to the F minor scale. They are directly related to the F minor key and make a harmonic sound for music in the same key.