Diatonic Chords of C Minor Scale

How to form diatonic chords of C minor scale?

C Minor Scale

C – D – E♭ – F – G – A♭ – B♭ – C are the notes of the C minor scale.

c minor scale


Diatonic chords are formed by stacking two generic third notes above each scale note.

c minor diatonic chords

C Minor Diatonic Chords

These are the seven minor scale diatonic chords that come from the C minor scale.

c minor diatonic chords

Each diatonic chord is labelled with a roman numeral number.

All natural minor scales follow the same patten:

i,  iiº,  III,  iv,  v,  VI,  VII



Download Music Theory Trainer on the App Store

We use uppercase roman numeral numbers to represent major chords, lowercase to represent minor chords, uppercase with a small plus sign to represent augmented chords, and lowercase with a small circle to represent diminished chords.

Firstfourth and fifth chords of a natural minor scale will always be minorThirdsixth and seventh chords of a natural minor scale will always be majorSecond chord of a natural minor scale will always be diminished.

The seven diatonic chords formed from the key of C minor are:

i.  C – E♭ – G (C minor chord)

iiº.  D – F – A♭ (D diminished chord)

III.  E♭ – G – B♭ (E♭ major chord)

iv.  F – A♭ – C (F minor chord

v.  G – B♭ – D (G minor chord)

VI.  A♭- C – E♭ (A♭ major chord

VII.  B♭- D – F (B♭ major chord)

These are the chords that are diatonic to the C minor scale. They are directly related to the C minor key and make a harmonic sound for music in the same key.