Diatonic Chords of D Minor Scale

How to form diatonic chords of D minor scale?

D Minor Scale

D – E – F – G – A – B♭ – C – D are the notes of the D minor scale.

d minor scale


Diatonic chords are formed by stacking two generic third notes above each scale note.

d minor diatonic chords

D Minor Diatonic Chords

These are the seven minor scale diatonic chords that come from the D minor scale.

d minor diatonic chords

Each diatonic chord is labelled with a roman numeral number.

All natural minor scales follow the same patten:

i,  iiº,  III,  iv,  v,  VI,  VII

d minor diatonic chords

We use uppercase roman numeral numbers to represent major chords, lowercase to represent minor chords, uppercase with a small plus sign to represent augmented chords, and lowercase with a small circle to represent diminished chords.

Firstfourth and fifth chords of a natural minor scale will always be minorThirdsixth and seventh chords of a natural minor scale will always be majorSecond chord of a natural minor scale will always be diminished.

The seven diatonic chords formed from the key of D minor are:

i.  D – F – A (D minor chord)

iiº.  E – G – B♭ (E diminished chord)

III.  F – A – C (F major chord)

iv.  G – B♭ – D (G minor chord

v.  A – C – E (A minor chord)

VI.  B♭- D – F (B♭ major chord

VII.  C – E – G (C major chord)

These are the chords that are diatonic to the D minor scale. They are directly related to the D minor key and make a harmonic sound for music in the same key.