Diatonic Chords of E Minor Scale

How to form diatonic chords of E minor scale?

E Minor Scale

E – F♯ – G – A – B – C – D – E are the notes of the E minor scale.

e minor scale

Diatonic chords are formed by stacking two generic third notes above each scale note.
e minor diatonic chord

E Minor Diatonic Chords

These are the seven minor scale diatonic chords that come from the E minor scale.

e minor diatonic chord

Each diatonic chord is labelled with a roman numeral number.

All natural minor scales follow the same patten:

i,  iiº,  III,  iv,  v,  VI,  VII

e minor diatonic chord

We use uppercase roman numeral numbers to represent major chords, lowercase to represent minor chords, uppercase with a small plus sign to represent augmented chords, and lowercase with a small circle to represent diminished chords.

Firstfourth and fifth chords of a natural minor scale will always be minorThirdsixth and seventh chords of a natural minor scale will always be majorSecond chord of a natural minor scale will always be diminished.

The seven diatonic chords formed from the key of E minor are:

i.  E – G – B (E minor chord)

iiº.  F♯ – A – C (F Sharp diminished chord)

III.  G – B – D (G major chord)

iv.  A – C – E (A minor chord)

v. B – D – F♯ (B minor chord)

VI.  C – E – G (C major chord)

VII.  D – F♯ – A (D major chord)

These are the chords that are diatonic to the E minor scale. They are directly related to the E minor key and make a harmonic sound for music in the same key.