Diatonic Chords of D Flat Major Scale

How to form diatonic chords of D flat major scale?

D Flat Major Scale

D♭ – E♭ – F – G♭ – A♭ – B♭ – C – D♭ are the notes of the D flat major scale.

d flat major scale


Diatonic chords are formed by stacking two generic third notes above each scale note.

d flat major diatonic chords


D Flat Major Diatonic Chords

These are the seven major scale diatonic chords that come from the D flat major scale.

d flat major diatonic chords


Each major scale diatonic chord is labelled with a roman numeral number:

d flat major diatonic chords

All major scales follow the same pattern:

I,  ii,  iii,  IV,  V,  vi, viiº

We use uppercase roman numeral numbers to represent major chords, lowercase to represent minor chords, uppercase with a small plus sign to represent augmented chords, and lowercase with a small circle to represent diminished chords.

First, fourth and fifth chords in major will always be major. Second, third and sixth chords in major will always be minor. Seventh chord in major scale will always be diminished.

The seven diatonic chords in the D flat major key are:

I.  D♭ – F – A♭ (D Flat major chord)

ii.  E♭ – G♭ – B♭ (E Flat minor chord)

iii.  F – A♭ – C (F minor chord)

IV.  G♭ – B♭ – D♭ (G Flat major chord)

V. A♭ – C – E♭ (A Flat major chord)

vi.  B♭ – D♭ – F (B Flat minor chord)

viiº.  C – E♭ – G♭ (C diminished chord)

These are the harmonic chords that are diatonic to the D flat major scale

Other Major Scale Diatonic Chords

Diatonic Chords of C Major Scale
Diatonic Chords of C Sharp Major Scale / D Flat Major Scale
Diatonic Chords of D Major Scale
Diatonic Chords of E Flat Major Scale
Diatonic Chords of E Major Scale
Diatonic Chords of F Major Scale
Diatonic Chords of F Sharp Major Scale / G Flat Major Scale
Diatonic Chords of G Major Scale
Diatonic Chords of A Flat Major Scale
Diatonic Chords of A Major Scale
Diatonic Chords of B Flat Major Scale
Diatonic Chords of B Major Scale / C Flat Major Scale