Diatonic Chords of E Major Scale

How to form diatonic chords of E major scale?

E Major Scale

E – F♯ – G♯ – A – B – C♯ – D♯ – E are the notes of the E major scale.

e major scale


Diatonic chords are formed by stacking two generic third notes above each scale note.

e major diatonic chords

E Major Diatonic Chords

These are the seven major scale diatonic chords that come from the E major scale.

e major diatonic chords

Each major scale diatonic chord is labelled with a roman numeral number, and follows the same pattern:

I,  ii,  iii,  IV,  V,  vi, viiº

e major diatonic chords

We use uppercase roman numeral numbers to represent major chords, lowercase to represent minor chords, uppercase with a small plus sign to represent augmented chords, and lowercase with a small circle to represent diminished chords.

Firstfourth and fifth chords of a major scale will always be major chordsSecondthird and sixth chords of a major scale will always be minor chordsSeventh chord of a major scale will always be diminished chords.

The seven diatonic chords formed from the key of E major are:

I.  E – G♯ – B (E major chord)

ii.  F♯ – A – C♯ (F Sharp minor chord)

iii.  G♯ – B – D♯ (G Sharp minor chord)

IV.  A – C♯ – E (A major chord)

V. B – D♯ – F♯ (B major chord)

vi.  C♯ – E – G♯ (C Sharp minor chord)

viiº.  D♯ – F♯ – A (D Sharp diminished chord)

These are the chords that are diatonic to the E major scale. They are directly related to the E major key and make a harmonic sound for music in the same key.

Download Music Theory Trainer on the App Store