F Minor Scale

F Minor Scale

F – G – A♭ – B♭ – C – D♭ – E♭ – F  are the notes of the F minor scale.

Notes of the F Minor Scale on a piano keyboard and in ascending order on a staff:

f minor scale


F Minor Key Signature

The key signature of F minor scale has 4 flats: B♭, E♭, A♭ and D♭.

F minor scale is the relative minor of A Flat major scale. F minor and A Flat major scales have the same flat key signature.

Flat Key signatures


F Minor Diatonic Chords

These are the seven minor scale diatonic chords that come from the F minor scale.

f minor diatonic chords

i.  F – A♭ – C (F minor chord)

iiº.  G – B♭ – D♭ (G diminished chord)

III.  A♭ – C – E♭ (A Flat major chord)

iv.  B♭ – D♭ – F (B Flat minor chord

v.  C – E♭ – G (C minor chord)

VI.  D♭- F – A♭ (D Flat major chord

VII.  E♭- G – B♭(E Flat major chord)

These are the harmonic chords that are diatonic to the F minor scale.

Back to list of all Minor Scales.