C Minor Scale

C Minor Scale

C – D – E♭ – F – G – A♭ – B♭ – C are the notes of the C minor scale.

Notes of the C Minor Scale on a piano keyboard and in ascending order on a staff:

c minor scale


C Minor Key Signature

The key signature of C minor scale has 3 flats: B♭, E♭ and A♭.

C minor scale is the relative minor of E Flat major scale. C minor and E Flat major scales have the same flat key signature.

Flat Key signatures


C Minor Diatonic Chords

These are the seven minor scale diatonic chords that come from the C minor scale.



i.  C – E♭ – G (C minor chord)

iiº.  D – F – A♭ (D diminished chord)

III.  E♭ – G – B♭ (E Flat major chord)

iv.  F – A♭ – C (F minor chord

v.  G – B♭ – D (G minor chord)

VI.  A♭- C – E♭ (A Flat major chord

VII.  B♭- D – F (B Flat major chord)

These are the harmonic chords that are diatonic to the C minor scale


Back to list of all Minor Scales.