E Major Scale

E Major Scale

E – F♯ – G♯ – A – B – C♯ – D♯ – E are the notes of the E major scale.

Notes of the E Major Scale on a piano keyboard and in ascending order on a staff:

e major scale
The E major scale played in ascending and descending order.

E Major Key Signature

The key signature of E major scale has 4 sharps: F♯, C♯, G♯ and D♯.

E major scale is the relative major of C sharp minor scale E major and C sharp minor scales have the same sharp key signature.

Sharp Key Signatures

E Major Diatonic Chords

These are the seven major scale diatonic chords that come from the E major scale.

e major diatonic chords

I.  E – G♯ – B (E major chord)

ii.  F♯ – A – C♯ (F Sharp minor chord)

iii.  G♯ – B – D♯ (G Sharp minor chord)

IV.  A – C♯ – E (A major chord)

V. B – D♯ – F♯ (B major chord)

vi.  C♯ – E – G♯ (C Sharp minor chord)

viiº.  D♯ – F♯ – A (D Sharp diminished chord)

These are the chords that are diatonic to the E major scale. They make a harmonic sound for music in the E major key.

Piano Chords and Scales Posters

These posters include the essential chord and scale diagrams for learning all major and minor chord sets — Piano Chords and Scales posters bundle (Set of 2) – Folded A1 Size Version

 (Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I may earn commissions from qualifying purchases from Amazon.com.)

Back to list of all Major Scales