A Flat Major Scale

A Flat Major Scale (A♭ Major Scale)

A♭ – B♭ – C – D♭ – E♭ – F – G – A♭ are the notes of A Flat Major Scale.

Notes of the A Flat Major Scale on a piano keyboard and in ascending order on a staff:

a flat major scale
The A flat major scale played in ascending and descending order.

A Flat Major Key Signature

The key signature of A flat major scale has 4 flats: B♭, E♭, A♭ and D♭.

A flat major scale is the relative major of F minor scale. A flat major and F minor have the same flat key signature.

Flat Key signatures

A Flat Major Diatonic Chords

These are the seven major scale diatonic chords that come from the A Flat major scale.

a flat major diatonic chords

I.   A♭ – C – E♭ (A Flat major chord)

ii.   B♭ – D♭ – F (B Flat minor chord)

iii.   C – E♭ – G (C minor chord)

IV.   D♭ – F – A♭ (D Flat major chord)

V.  E♭ – G – B♭ (E Flat major chord)

vi.  F – A♭ – C (F minor chord)

viiº.  G – B♭ – D♭ (G diminished chord)

These are the chords that are diatonic to the A flat major scale.  They make a harmonic sound for music in the A flat major key.

Piano Chords and Scales Posters

These posters include the essential chord and scale diagrams for learning all major and minor chord sets — Piano Chords and Scales posters bundle (Set of 2) – Folded A1 Size Version

(Affiliate disclosure: As an Amazon Associate, I may earn commissions from qualifying purchases from Amazon.com.)

Back to list of all Major Scales