Diatonic Chords of E Minor Scale

How to form diatonic chords of E minor scale?

E Minor Scale

E – F♯ – G – A – B – C – D – E are the notes of the E minor scale.

e minor scale


Diatonic chords are formed by stacking two generic third notes above each scale note.e minor diatonic chord


E Minor Diatonic Chords

These are the seven minor scale diatonic chords that come from the E minor scale.

e minor diatonic chord


Each diatonic chord is labelled with a roman numeral number.

e minor diatonic chord

All natural minor scales follow the same pattern:

i,  iiº,  III,  iv,  v,  VI,  VII

We use uppercase roman numeral numbers to represent major chords, lowercase to represent minor chords, uppercase with a small plus sign to represent augmented chords, and lowercase with a small circle to represent diminished chords.

First, fourth and fifth chords in natural minor will always be minor. Third, sixth and seventh chords in natural minor scale will always be major. Second chord in natural minor scale will always be diminished.

The seven diatonic chords in the E minor key are:

i.  E – G – B (E minor chord)

iiº.  F♯ – A – C (F Sharp diminished chord)

III.  G – B – D (G major chord)

iv.  A – C – E (A minor chord)

v. B – D – F♯ (B minor chord)

VI.  C – E – G (C major chord)

VII.  D – F♯ – A (D major chord)

These are the harmonic chords that are diatonic to the E minor scale.