A Major Scale

A Major Scale

A – B – C♯ – D – E – F♯ – G♯ – A are the notes of the A major scale.

Notes of the A Major Scale on a piano keyboard and in ascending order on a staff:

a major scale

A Major Key Signature

The key signature of A major scale has 3 sharps: F♯, C♯, and G♯.

A major scale is the relative major of F sharp minor scale A major and F sharp minor scales have the same sharp key signature.

Sharp Key Signatures

A Major Diatonic Chords

These are the seven major scale diatonic chords that come from the A major scale.

a major diatonic chords

I.  A – C♯ – E (A major chord)

ii.  B – D – F♯ (B minor chord)

iii.  C♯ – E – G♯ (C Sharp minor chord)

IV.  D – F♯ – A (D major chord)

V. E – G♯ – B (E major chord)

vi.  F♯ – A – C♯ (F Sharp minor chord)

viiº.  G♯ – B – D (G Sharp diminished chord)

These are the harmonic chords that are diatonic to the A major scale.

Back to list of all Major Scales.